BS32-033.png

Kagamusha (影武者, Kagemusha) is a keyword debuted in BS32, possessed only by White Spirits.

Spirits with this keyword have the following text: 

  • Kagemusha - When your Spirit with Soul Core on it becomes the target of an opponent's effect, you can summon this Spirit card in your hand. Then, change the target of that effect to this Spirit only.

There are also two other keywords derived from Kagemusha, which are True-Kagemusha and Tenma-Kagemusha.

List of Spirits with Kagemusha

List of Spirits with Kagemusha

Assisting Cards

The CleverMachineCommander Tycoon (BS32-X04)

Trivia

  • The word "kagemusha" is the pronunciation of the Japanese word "影武者", which is a pronoun for people who substitute famous generals or emperors in Japan's Warring State era. Those people would have similar faces as the generals and emperors, and they wore the same clothes. So they could distract the enemies, while the victims escaped. This is exactly what the effect here is reflecting.

Official Q&As

Q1: What is "Kagemusha"?
A1: When your Spirit with Soul Core is targeted by an opposing effect, before that effect activates, you summon the Spirit card with "Kagemusha" by paying the cost, and change the target of the opposing effect to the summoned Spirit only.

Q2: Can the target of the effect "destroy all opposing BP 3000 or less Spirits" be changed to a BP 4000 Spirit with "Kagemusha" only?
A2: Yes, it can be. You can also change the target of effects that do not normally target Spirits to Spirits with "Kagemusha".

Q3: When the target of the effect "destroy all opposing BP 3000 or less Spirits" is changed to a BP 4000 Spirit with "Kagemusha", is that Spirit with "Kagemusha" not destroyed?
A3: That is correct.

Q4: Can "Kagemusha" change the target of the Lv2/3 effect of "The GiantArmCleverMachineMusha Rakan"?
A4: No it cannot. The Lv2/3 effect of "The GiantArmCleverMachineMusha Rakan" is a permanent effect between steps, so the target(s) cannot be changed.

Q5: When your Spirit with Soul Core is targeted by an opposing effect, can you summon multiple copies of Spirit cards with "Kagemusha"?
A5: Yes, you can. However, in this case, after you declare the multiple copies of Spirit cards with "Kagemusha", then the turn player chooses the effect order, if the Spirit summoned by "Kagemusha" does not have Soul Core put on it, the condition for the next "Kagemusha" effect is not fulfilled, and so their effects cannot activate, and the cards are returned to the Hand.

Q6: After you summon a Spirit through "Kagemusha", and put the Soul Core onto it, since that Spirit will become a new target of the effect, can you summon another Spirit card with "Kagemusha" from the Hand?
A6: No, you cannot.

Q7: When you activate "Kagemusha", the opposing effect is also targeting cards in the hand and trash, can the Spirit with "Kagemusha" change those targets?
A7: No, it cannot. the targets that can be changed are the Spirits, Ultimates, Braves, and Nexuses on the field. The targets towards hand, deck, trash, or the Burst zone cannot be changed.

Q8: The opposing "Homuracheetah" with Soul Core attacks, and targets both your Spirit with Soul Core and your Nexus with the same effect at the same time. In this case, when "Kagemusha" activates, is the Nexus destroyed?
A8: No, it is not. When "Kagemusha" activates, targets at the same time towards Ultimates and Nexuses by the same effect are also changed to only the Spirit with "Kagemusha".

Q9: When your Spirit with Soul Core is targeted by an opposing effect, you activate "Kagemusha". If the opposing effect has other timings such as "Rush", "then", or "after this effect resolves", can "Kagemusha" also change the targets for those timings?
A9: No, it cannot. Within one effect, different timings are treated as different effects. However, you can trigger a second "Kagemusha" to counter those effects.

Q10: When your Spirit with Soul Core is targeted by an opposing "Showdown" effect, can you activate "Kagemusha", and compare BP with the Spirit summoned by "Kagemusha"?
A10: Yes, you can. However, in the case of "The CleverMachineTactician Shimokaze", as it is unaffected by opposing Spirit effects, after the target changes, it is unaffected by the "Showdown" effect, and BP will not be compared.

Q11: When your Spirit with Soul Core is affected by opposing in-activation effects, such as "during this turn, give all opposing Spirits/Ultimates -1000 BP", can you activate "Kagemusha"?
A11: No, "Kagemusha" cannot activate against effects that are already in activation.

Q12: With effects that last throughout the steps and turns, such as "give all opposing Spirits/Ultimates get -1000 BP" from "Small Phynx", which does not specify activation timings such as "during this battle" or "during this turn", when they affect your Spirit with Soul Core, can you activate "Kagemusha"?
A12: No, you cannot.

Related Articles

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.