The text on each card varies, but the common points are that they work like Magic, with either Main or Flash effects, which can be used from the hand, and, after they resolve, player can either discard the card or replace/swap one of your Spirits on field with this card in refreshed condition. If the Spirit that was used for the switching is currently battling, the new Spirit will continued the battle.
While this was originally exclusive to cards that belongs to the "Kamen" family, some of the non-Kamen family cards introduced post-CB04 and BS42, such as Imperialdramon Dragon Mode and Imperialdramon Paladin Mode, also has such ability as well, but has different card family requirements or no such requirement at all.
The default text on Change cards is the following:
- [Step Timing] - Change: Cost X (Reductions) (This effect can be used from your hand). [Effect]. After that effect resolves, either discard this card or replace one of your [condition] Spirit's with this card in refreshed condition. If the Spirit is currently battling, continue the battle.
Q1. What is 'Change'?
A1. It is an effect where you can use cards at the specified timings, like (Flash) and (Main). After their effects activated, you can either discard the card to the Trash, or return one of your target Spirit to the Hand and replace the card in refresh position.
Q2. Is Change a spirit effect?
A2. Yes, that is correct. They can be activated even when magic cannot be activated.
Q3. The cost of Change has reduction, so can the symbols on your field be used to reduce the cost?
A3. Yes, it can be reduced.
Q4. Can effects changing the cost of spirit cards in your hand also change the cost of Change effects in your hand?
A4. No, the cost and reduction of Change cannot be changed.
Q5. When I replace a Spirit card to the field, can I place additional cores to the spirit card?
A5. No, you may not. You must place the same number of cores on the replaced Spirit as per the targeted Spirit that was returned to your Hand.
Q6. When I replace a Spirit card to the field, can I activate the Spirit's (When Summoned) effect?
A6. No, it is not activated. Replace is not considered as a summoning. It does not activate any effect that activated upon summoning of a Spirit.
Q7. When [cannot summon any Spirit card(s) by an effect without paying cost] effect is activated on the field, can I replace my cards?
A7. Yes, you can. Replace is not considered as a summoning.
Q8. When I replace a Spirit card to the field, will the replaced Spirit continues the battle if the returned Spirit was Attacking?
A8. Yes, the battle (or in this case, the Attack) will continue. This is the same if you replace with a Spirit that is blocking, where the replaced Spirit will continues the blocking battle.
Q9. What happened to the Brave on a Braved Spirit after you replace the Brave Spirit?
A9. You only replace the targeted Spirit & the replaced Spirit will remain braved on the Brave. At this time, the Brave will separate if the replaced Spirit does not meet the Brave Condition.
Q10. What happened if you replace the Brave Spirit that is Braved on one side of an 'Imagine' Brave?
A10. You only replace the targeted Spirit on one side of an 'Imagine' Brave. The replaced Spirit and the Brave Spirit on the other side of the 'Imagine' Brave will remain braved on the 'Imagine' Brave. At this time, the 'Imagine' Brave will separate if the replaced Spirit does not meet the Brave Condition.
Q11. When the targeted Spirit that was return to Hand receives an effect (i.e. During this Turn, the Spirit gets -6000 BP), will the replaced Spirit receive the effect as well?
A11. Yes, replaced Spirit will receive the effect.
Q12. When the targeted Spirit that was return to Hand is an Advent Spirit that is [During Advent], what happens to the pre-Advent cards under that returned Advent Spirit?
A12. As pre-Advent cards under an Advent Spirit move to the same place as the Advent Spirit, those pre-Advent cards will return to Hand as well.
Q13. Can I replace a Spirit card that has a [Cannot be returned to Hand] effect?
A13. No, you may not.
Q14. If I’m under a [Hand cannot be increased by effect] effect, can I replace a Spirit card?
A14. No, you may not. (the answer revised due to changes in official rule manual ver.11.0)
A14. Yes, you can. Replacing is not a hand increasing effect. Therefore even if you replace it with a Spirit that has pre-advent cards, your hand will not treat as increased.
Q15. When I replace a Spirit card and it returns the targeted Spirit to Hand, can [When a Spirit is Returned to Hand] or [When Hand increases] effects be activated?
A15. Yes, you can. (the answer revised due to changes in official rule manual ver.11.0)
A15. No, you can not. Replacing is not a hand increasing effect, so you can not activate those effects.