For example, if Himeneko fuses with The Mystic Simon then it will be a "Brave Spirit" with cost 9, LV1 BP is 8000, LV2 BP is 10000, with 2 colors and 2 symbols. The combined cost can help a brave ultimate to have a better chance at hitting with its Ultimate Trigger.
There are various brave conditions. If the condition text does not specify that it can fuse with an ultimate, then it can only fuse with a spirit. For example, if the condition is "Cost 4 or more" it can fuse with only a spirit with cost 4 (or more). If it is "Cost 3 or more Spirit/Ultimate" it can fuse with a spirit with cost 3 (or more) or an ultimate with cost 3 (or more). In the other hand, if the condition is "Cost 4 or more Ultimate", then it can fuse with only an ultimate with cost 4 (or more) but cannot fuse with a spirit. Normally a spirit/ultimate can fuse with only 1 brave, but there are some spirits/ultimates those have an effect to fuse with more than 1 brave. Normally, a brave cannot fuse with other brave cards.
Type of a brave card is dynamic. When it is in the owner's hand, deck, trash, or during a summon event or a burst event, it is a "Brave" card. But after summoning and put a core on it then it will be a spirit (brave in spirit form), not a brave card any more. This is also when it fuses with spirit or ultimate, it will be a brave spirit or a brave ultimate but not a brave. This means a brave card be able to use its "when summon" or "burst" effects on a spirit/ultimate with Ultra Armor. But it cannot use "when brave attacks" effects to an Ultra Armor spirit/ultimate because at that time it is a spirit/ultimate.
When summoning a brave, it can fuse with a spirit/ultimate directly (if the brave condition is met). This rule will apply with every summon event such as summon from burst event or summon from trash or out of game area.
Life cycle of a brave is also complex. When it is a spirit (brave in spirit form), it can be destroyed as a normal spirit. But when it fused with a spirit/ultimate, once it is destroyed, only the spirit/ultimate card will be destroyed and moved to trash. The brave card still remains on field and the owner will has a chance to move cores from reserve or other spirits/ultimates/nexuses to it as need (but not from trash). This rule is also applied when a brave spirit/ultimate has to leave the field with "return to hand/deck", "deplete by removing all cores". Only spirit/ultimate card will leave the field but the brave card still remains (if there is a core to put on it).
In the other hand, instead of leaving the brave on field the owner can choose to move the brave card to the same place that the spirit/ultimate go. This means if the spirit/ultimate must go to trash or hand or deck, the owner can move the brave card to trash/hand/deck as need too.
The last complex about brave is when a brave spirit/ultimate attacks. There are 3 scenarios for it:
1. The opponent declares a block and then compares BP. If the attacking brave spirit/ultimate BP's is lower than the blocking spirit/ultimate's, it is destroyed and the brave remains, in the same condition it was before.
2. The opponent declares a block and then uses a flash (or when battle effect), makes the attacking spirit/ultimate leaves the field (such as return to hand/deplete/destroy). In this case the BP comparing will not happen because the fighting card is not in the field any more. And the brave will remain on field.
3. The opponent uses a flash effect, making the spirit/ultimate leaves the field and the brave remains.
3.1 If the opponent declares a block, the brave (in spirit form) will compare BP with the blocking card.
3.2 In case of no block, if the brave has a symbol, it can take lives.
Q1. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, can it attack on the attack step of that turn?
A1. Yes, if it is a symbol brave, it can decrease the opponent's life by attacking.
Q2. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, can more core be put on it than necessary for its Level 1 cost?
A2. Yes, any number of core can be put on it.
Q3. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, does its "when summoned" effect activate?
A3. Yes, it activates.
Q4. When a brave is summoned and direct braved to a spirit, does its "when summoned" effect activate?
A4. Yes, it activates.
Q5. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, is its "when summoned" effect negated by Armor?
Q5. No, the effect is not negated. The brave is treated as a spirit, but its "when summoned" effect is a brave effect.
Q6. When a brave is summoned and direct braved to a spirit, is its "when summoned" effect negated by Armor?
Q6. No, the effect is not negated. The brave is treated as a brave spirit, but its "when summoned" effect is a brave effect.
Q7. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, can it be targeted as a spirit by an effect activated by its "when summoned" effect?
A7. Yes, as it is summoned in spirit form, its "when summoned" effect will activate and it will take the effect.
Q8. When a brave is summoned on the attack step, can it be direct braved to a spirit?
A8. Yes, it can be.
Q9. When a brave is summoned and direct braved to a spirit, can core be put onto that brave?
A9. Yes, core can be placed from the field and reserve. However, this counts as putting core on when summoning. In the case of braving a spirit-form brave, extra core cannot be added on.
Q10. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, do "when a spirit is summoned" effects activate?
A10. No, even when summoning in spirit form it is still treated as summoning a brave. Therefore, "when a brave is summoned" effects may activate, but not "when a spirit is summoned" effects.
Q11. When a blue brave without a symbol is summoned in spirit form, does Heavy Armor block its summon effect?
A11. Yes, it is blocked.
Q12. When a blue brave without a symbol is direct braved to a red spirit, does Heavy Armor block its summon effect?
A12. Yes, it is blocked.
Q1. What is braving?
A1. Braving is placing a brave card on top of a spirit that meets its brave condition.
Q2. Is a braved spirit treated as two spirits?
A2. No, a braved spirit is treated as a single Brave Spirit. The brave spirit's cost, BP, symbols, effects, and colors are a combination of the brave and spirit. However, the brave's reduction symbols, family, and card name are not added to the brave spirit.
Q4. Can The SunDragon Sieg-Apollodragon, already braved with The CannonDragon Bal-Gunner, additionally brave with The FangEmperor Cerbelord?
A4. No, it cannot. Each spirit can only brave with one brave.
Q5. Can braves brave with other braves?
A5. No, they cannot.
Q6. If an exhausted spirit is braved with a refreshed brave, is the brave spirit exhausted?
A6. Yes, it will be exhausted. When either the spirit or brave is exhausted before braving, they will be exhausted as a brave spirit.
Q7. What is switching?
A7. Detaching a brave from a brave spirit and putting it on a non-braved spirit, as well as exchanging the braves between two brave spirits counts as switching.
Q8. When switching, can the brave condition be ignored?
A8. No, both spirits to be braved must meet the brave condition or they cannot switch.
Q9. Does putting the brave into spirit condition and braving it to a different spirit count as switching?
A9. No, the brave does not go into spirit form when switching. At this time, there is no moving of core, However, when braving or detaching cannot be done, switching cannot be done either.
Q10. What is detaching?
A10. When a brave spirit goes from the spirit and brave being together to being separated, each with enough core to suffice their Level 1 cost and treated as spirits. When detaching, core can be moved to the spirit or brave from the field or reserve.
Q11. When detaching an exhausted brave spirit, do both the spirit and brave stay exhausted?
A11. Yes, they stay in the same position they were in before detaching.
Q12. When the brave condition is not met after braving, is the brave spirit forcefully separated?
A12. Yes, they are detached. This applies to when a Spirit Advents/switches place/Changes. If the Brave is chosen to stay on field, cores need to move to it to meet the Lv1 core requirement.
Q13. When a cost 3 spirit is braved with a cost 4 brave to become a cost 7 brave spirit, can it switch braves with another brave spirit whose brave has a condition of cost 4 or more?
A13. No, if the spirit itself is not cost 5 or more, they cannot switch. The brave condition refers to the spirit before braving.
Q14. When a spirit-form brave is braved with a spirit, must all the core from both be placed on the brave spirit?
A14. Yes, they must all be placed on the brave spirit at first. After that, the core can be sent to other spirits or the reserve.
Q15. When there is The Doom Coffin on the opponent's field, when a spirit-form brave is braved with a spirit, does it count as "putting on core" and cause the brave spirit to be exhausted?
A15. Yes, it will be exhausted.
Q16. Can you brave your own brave with an opponent's spirit?
A16. No, you cannot.
Q17. When a refreshed spirit is braved with an exhausted brave, is the brave spirit exhausted?
A17. Yes, it will be exhausted. When either the spirit or brave is exhausted before braving, they will be exhausted as a brave spirit.
Q18. Can a spirit-condition brave be switched out with the brave of an brave spirit?
A18. No, it cannot be.
Q19. When only the brave of a brave spirit is destroyed, what happens to the brave and its [When Braved] effects?
A19. When only the brave of a brave spirit is destroyed, the brave is immediately sent to the trash. The [When Braved] effects are all nullified.
Q20. Can a destroyed spirit brave?
A20. No, destroyed spirits cannot brave.
Q1. Can braves without symbols count for reduction?
A1. No, they cannot. The number of symbols rather than cards is counted for reduction.
Q2. When a spirit-form brave withuot a symbol attacks and the opponent does not block, can it reduce the opponent's life?
A2. No, the life cannot be decreased by spirits without symbols.
Q3. Can a brave in spirit form be destroyed by effects like Sagitta Flame that destroy spirits?
A3. Yes, it can be destroyed. It can be targeted by all effects that target spirits, such as destruction and exhaustion.
Q4. When an attacking brave spirit is destroyed before the block declaration and only the brave remains on field, is the remaining brave still attacking?
A4. Yes, it continues its attack. If the brave has a symbol, it can reduce the life if not blocked.
Q5. Is a spirit with no printed effects still treated as a spirit with no printed effects for effects like The Outlaw Wasteland when it is braved and gains an effect?
A5. No, it is not. The parts of the brave spirit have effects, so it is not treated as a spirit with no printed effects.
Q6. When braving a spirit-form brave to a spirit, must all the core from both of them be placed onto the brave spirit?
A6. Yes, they must at least be placed on the brave spirit at the start. After that, the core can be moved to other spirits and to the reserve.
Q7. When there is The Doom Coffin on the opponent's field, when a spirit-form brave is braved with a spirit, does it count as "putting on core" and cause the brave spirit to be exhausted?
A15. Yes, it will be exhausted.Q15. When there is The Doom Coffin on the opponent's field, when a spirit-form brave is braved with a spirit, does it count as "putting on core" and cause the brave spirit to be exhausted? A7. Yes, it will be exhausted.
Q8. After you use Invisible Cloak on your spirit and that spirit is braved, is that brave spirit still under the effect of Invisible Cloak?
A8. Yes, it is.
Q9. After you use Invisible Cloak on your brave and you brave that brave, is that brave spirit still under the effect of Invisible Cloak?
A9. No, the effects used on the brave before braving are lost.
Q10. After you use Invisible Cloak on your brave spirit and that brave spirit is separated, is the spirit still under the effect of Invisible Cloak?
A10. Yes, it is. Effects that were put on the brave spirit remain on the spirit, but not on the brave.
Q11. When keeping the brave of a destroyed brave spirit on field, does the core from the brave spirit remain on it?
A11. No, that is incorrect. All core from the destroyed brave spirit is put into the reserve. After that, core from the field and reserve can be put onto the brave.
Q12. Are spirit-form braves that only have [When Braved] effects treated as spirits with no printed effects?
A12. No, they are treated as spirits with printed effects.
Q13. Is the [When Braved] effect of a brave activated by a brave spirit treated as a brave effect?
A13. No, that is incorrect. Braves give their [When Braved] effects to the brave spirit, and are activated as spirit effects.
Q14. When a spirit with two braves is destroyed during battle and both braves are kept on field in spirit form, which brave continues the battle?
A14. The owner of the brave decides which remaining brave continues the battle.
Q15. When a cost 4 spirit that can brave with up to two braves braves with one brave to become cost 8, can it brave with a brave that has a condition of cost 8 or more?
A15. Yes, it can. As it can brave without separating, the spirit before braving is cost 8.
Q16. Can braves brave with ultimates?
A16. No, they cannot brave. However, they can brave if the brave specifically designates ultimates in the brave condition.
Q17. When an ultimate is braved, do the cost, BP, and colors combine like with brave spirits?
A17. Yes, that is correct. The rules regarding brave ultimates are the same as for brave spirits.
Q18. Can effects stating "destroy one brave on a brave spirit" destroy braves on brave ultimates?
A18. No, they cannot.
Q19. Can Ikazuchi-Wurm's "destroy an opposing brave or nexus" destroy the brave on a brave ultimate?
A19. No, it cannot.
Q20. Can a brave that only specifies ultimates in its condition brave to a spirit that has an effect allowing it to ignore brave conditions?
A20. Yes, it can.
Q21. Can a brave that only has "When this Ultimate Brave Attacks" activate its effect when braved with a spirit?
A21. No, it cannot.
Q22. Can effects targeting a "non-braved spirit/ultimate" target braved ultimates?
A22. No, it cannot. Only non-braved ultimates can be targeted.
Q23. When a brave spirit is separated mid-battle and both the spirit and spirit-form brave are still on field, can you choose which one continues the battle?
A23. No, you cannot. If the spirit is still on field, the spirit continues the battle.
Q24. When there is only one core on a braved spirit and there is no other core on the field or reserve, can the brave spirit be separated?
A24. Yes, it can. In that case, the owner of the spirit decides whether to leave the core on the spirit or the spirit-form brave.
Q25. When a detached brave does not have core put on it, is that brave treated as being destroyed/depleted in spirit form?
A25. No, it is not. It is destroyed without going to spirit form, so effects regarding the depletion/destruction of spirits do not activate.
Q27. Can "a braved brave" refer to the brave of either a brave spirit or brave ultimate?
A27. Yes, that is correct.
Q28. Can a red spirit's "destroy one braved brave" effect destroy the brave of a braved spirit or braved ultimate with Heavy Immunity: Red?
A28. No, it cannot.
Q29. When a brave is summoned in spirit form, do "when you summon a spirit" effects activate?
A29. No, they do not. Even if it is summoned in spirit form, a brave was summoned rather than a spirit.
Q30. Do the "when attacks" effects of braves summoned and direct braved through Draw Blade or Catalyze during an attack activate?
A30. The instantaneous effects such as destruction or drawing of that brave cannot activate, as it was not braved at the attack declaration. However, effects that occur at different timings during the battle, flash, and showdown step can activate.